Graduate Schools

Study and research programmes take place in 17 different Graduate Schools and an Institute for Sciences of the Light

Our Graduate Schools and Institute cover three broad sectors: Science and Engineering, Life Sciences and Health, Human & Social Sciences.
These coordinated sets of Master's degrees, study and research programmes, and doctoral schools bring together teams that each work on a particular well-defined subject, discipline or mission. Their purpose is to give visibility to degrees, promoting their value, as well as to graduates and research activities both nationally and internationally, while also developing synergies and collaborations between academic players.

 

Graduate Schools

Biology, Society, Ecology & Environment, Resources, Agriculture & Food Systems

The "Biology, Society, Ecology & Environment, Resources, Agriculture & Food Systems" Graduate School centres on life sciences and interactions between living organisms and their environments, with a view to addressing issues that concern the future of the biosphere and of our societies. Subjects include the ecological transition towards sustainable production systems in agriculture, resource management and use, and, more broadly, planet-wide changes and their impacts.

Chemistry

Underlying the work of the teams at the "Chemistry" Graduate School is the unifying idea of sustainable chemistry, with three common subject areas: command of multi-scale phenomena, development of methods with ultimate processes, and development of multifunctional objects (molecules, macromolecules, assemblies, materials, etc.). The Graduate School's activities are based around the major issues society faces in the fields of energy, the environment and health.

Computer Science

The "Computer Science" Graduate School trains up the engineers and researchers of the future, educating them on key subjects such as Big Data, artificial intelligence, the Internet of Things, cybersecurity and quantum computing. It also engages with major societal challenges and cross-disciplinary issues such as energy, industrial renewal, health, transport, education and personal safety.

Law

The "Law" Graduate School is founded on three defining areas. The first is international openness. The second is direct involvement in the socio-economic fabric of the territory, composed of the entities currently exercising the judicial and legal professions in which the "Law" Graduate School educates its students: courts, local authorities, public administrations and licensed professions. The third area involves building stronger links with other disciplines to carry out research and training projects in various fields, such as the environment, social and solidarity economy, and artificial intelligence.

Economy and Management

The "Economy and Management" Graduate School combines the best of research and education in economic sciences and management sciences. This school sets the standard on such subjects as digitisation, strategic management and innovation, territories and mobility, sustainable economy, food, health, energy, environment and climate, public decision-making, responsible management and marketing.

Education

The "Education" Graduate School is a veritable learning community founded on education, vocational training, academic teaching and educational innovation, oriented towards the teaching professions and academic staff. Its purpose is to provide undergraduate studies and continuous education along the entire chain of teachers and academic staff from nursery school to higher education.

Engineering and Systems Sciences

The "Engineering and Systems Sciences" Graduate School gives courses in the fields of engineering sciences and associated digital sciences. It covers several major subject areas, each of them exploring and developing novel ways of designing, manufacturing, using and maintaining systems leading to future ecological and economic developments for our societies.

Geosciences, Climate, Environment, Planet

Students, academic staff and researchers at the "Geosciences, Climate, Environment, Planet" Graduate School study the surface layers of the Earth and other planets and how they function. The societal issues covered by these courses relate to climate change, pollution and the management of natural resources. Research and training are structured around three broad subject areas: Fluid surfaces and climate; Geosciences and environment; Solar system and planetology.

Health and Drug Sciences

The "Health and Drug Sciences" Graduate School coordinates research and education in the field of therapeutic innovation, medicines and health products that benefit patients. It covers the entire chain of health products and develops cross-disciplinary health research, bringing together teams that act in the fields of pharmaceutical sciences, drugs, medical devices, diagnostics, pathophysiology, translational medicine and clinical research.

Humanities – Heritage Science

The "Humanities – Heritage Science" Graduate School teaches the fields of the arts, design, history, literature, French and foreign cultures and civilisations, musicology, information and communication sciences, and heritage science (archaeometry, archaeology, archaeomaterials, chemistry, history of the arts, physics, paleoenvironment and their associated methods).

Life Sciences and Health

The "Life Sciences and Health" Graduate School takes an integrative approach to life sciences, from the study of how molecular mechanisms in biological systems function and interact, to their integration at all levels, including on the evolutionary, pathophysiological and biotechnological scales. The school is concerned with the study of fundamental mechanisms in models that represent the biodiversity of living organisms, placing a strong focus on microorganisms, plants, animals and humans.

Mathematics

The "Mathematics" Graduate School teaches a range of subjects from pure mathematics to interfaces with related fields (life sciences, computer science, computational science and engineering, theoretical physics). It covers both the fundamentals and the applications of cryptography and theoretical physics, as well as all aspects of analysis, including mathematical physics, geometry, topology and dynamical systems, probability, quantitative finance, statistical physics, conformal theories and quantum gravity.

Physics

The "Physics" Graduate School covers all the major disciplinary fields and methods of physics, from fundamental to applied, theory, modelling and simulation, instrumentation and laboratory experiments, from elementary to instrumental physics, from the core subject to interfaces incorporating current societal issues. Research is structured around three main subject areas: physics of the two infinities, physics of waves and matter, and astrophysics.

Public Health

The "Public Health" Graduate School has a very wide range of education and research programmes, incorporating most aspects of public health, from statistics to life sciences, and human and social sciences: human and animal epidemiology, clinical research methodology, health and environment, health promotion and economics, biostatistics and health data sciences, as well as ethics.

Research and Higher education

The " Research and Higher education" Graduate School has a personalised approach to education, with a "pre-doctorate + doctorate" methodology. It provides a place for exchange and a framework in which to experiment with enhanced new educational pathways and practices, particularly of the cross- and multi-disciplinary kind. These courses are based on the Master's programmes of Graduate Schools in the disciplines concerned, complementing them and leading to a double degree. Working closely with research laboratories, they give students sustained contact with the research community from the early stages of their studies.

Sociology and Political Science

Centred on two closely related disciplines, the "Sociology and Political Science" Graduate School covers four multidisciplinary research areas that are highly visible both nationally and internationally: Environment, territories and transitions; Work, employment and professions; Sociology of public action; Data analysis.

Sport, Movement, Human Factors

The "Sport, Movement, Human Factors" Graduate School upholds standards of excellence in the study of sport, physical education, adapted physical activity, training and performance optimisation, ergonomics, management and engineering for purposes of advancing human movement. It provides a dynamic environment based on top quality academic research and backed by professional partners in the sports, leisure and health sectors.

Institute for Sciences of the Light

The Institute for Sciences of the Light is a cross-disciplinary institution without walls. It was created on the back of a century-old tradition in this part of France, famed for its history of optical engineering, specialising both in fundamental research and in education. Following up its unique past, the Institute fosters collaborations between teams working in this field and contributes to advances in sciences of the light in all areas, from the most theoretical to the most applied.

Graduate Schools

Formation et recherche s’expriment au sein de 17 Graduate Schools thématiques et d’un Institut des Sciences de la Lumière

Nos Graduate Schools et Institut couvrent trois larges secteurs : sciences et ingénierie, sciences de la vie et santé, sciences humaines et sociales. Ces ensembles coordonnés de mentions de masters, de programmes de formation et de recherche, et d’écoles doctorales regroupent les équipes dont les activités s’organisent autour d’une thématique, discipline ou mission bien définies. Ils ont pour objectif de rendre visibles et de valoriser les diplômes, les diplômés et les activités de recherche aux niveaux national et international, et de développer des synergies et des mutualisations entre les acteurs du périmètre.

 

Les Graduate Schools

Biosphera

La Graduate School « Biosphera » est consacrée aux sciences du vivant et aux interactions entre le vivant et ses environnements, afin de répondre aux enjeux liés au devenir de la biosphère et de nos sociétés. Ses thématiques incluent la transition écologique vers des systèmes de production agricole durables, la gestion et l'usage des ressources et, plus largement, les changements globaux et leurs impacts.

Chimie

À la base du travail des équipes de la Graduate School « Chimie » se trouve le concept fédérateur de chimie durable et trois enjeux communs : la maîtrise des phénomènes multiéchelles, le développement de méthodes aux procédés ultimes, et l’élaboration d’objets (molécules, macromolécules, assemblages, matériaux …) multifonctionnels. Ses activités se structurent au cœur des grands défis sociétaux relevant de l’énergie, de l’environnement et de la santé.

Droit

La Graduate School « Droit » comprend trois axes structurants. Le premier concerne l’ouverture à l'international. Le second tient à l’implication de la Graduate School « Droit » dans le tissu socio-économique territorial comprenant les interlocuteurs naturels des professions judiciaires et juridiques auxquelles elle forme ses étudiants : les juridictions, les collectivités territoriales, les administrations publiques et les professions réglementées. Le troisième axe tient au renforcement des liens avec d'autres disciplines en vue de projets de recherche et de formation en environnement, économie sociale et solidaire, et intelligence artificielle.

Économie & Management

La Graduate School « Économie & Management » met en synergie le meilleur de la recherche et de l’enseignement en sciences économiques et en sciences de gestion et du management. Elle est notamment une référence sur les thématiques du digital, du management stratégique et de l’innovation, des territoires et de la mobilité, de l’économie soutenable, de l’alimentation, de la santé, de l’énergie, de l’environnement et du climat, des choix publics, du management et du marketing responsables.

Éducation, Formation, Enseignement

La Graduate School « Éducation, formation, enseignement » constitue une véritable communauté apprenante autour de l’éducation, de la formation, de l’enseignement et de l’innovation pédagogique, tournée vers les métiers de l’enseignement et des personnels éducatifs. Elle a pour vocation la formation initiale et continue de tous les enseignants et personnels d’éducation, de la maternelle à l’enseignement supérieur.

Géosciences, Climat, Environnement, Planètes

Les étudiants, enseignants-chercheurs et chercheurs de la Graduate School « Géosciences, Climat, Environnement, Planètes » s’intéressent au fonctionnement des enveloppes superficielles de la Terre et des autres planètes. Les enjeux sociétaux abordés concernent le changement climatique, la pollution et la gestion des ressources naturelles. La recherche et la formation s’y déclinent selon trois grands axes thématiques : Enveloppes fluides et climat ; Géosciences et environnement ; Système solaire et planétologie.

Humanités – Sciences du patrimoine

La Graduate School « Humanités – Sciences du patrimoine » concerne le périmètre des arts, design, histoire, littératures, cultures et civilisations française et étrangères, musicologie, sciences de l’information et de la communication, et sciences du patrimoine (archéométrie, archéologie, archéomatériaux, chimie, histoire des arts, physique, paléoenvironnement et leurs méthodes associées).

Informatique et sciences du numérique

La Graduate School « Informatique et sciences du numérique » forme les ingénieurs et les chercheurs de demain, et les rend capables de faire face aux grands défis comme le Big Data, l'intelligence artificielle, l'Internet des objets, la cybersécurité ou encore l'informatique quantique. Elle est également mobilisée sur les grands défis sociétaux et interdisciplinaires comme l’énergie, le renouveau industriel, la santé, les transports, l’éducation et la sécurité des personnes.

Life Sciences and Health

La Graduate School « Life Sciences and Health » porte une vision intégrative des sciences de la vie, allant de la compréhension des mécanismes moléculaires de fonctionnement des systèmes biologiques et de leurs interactions, jusqu’à leur intégration à toutes les échelles, en incluant les dimensions évolutives, physiopathologiques et biotechnologiques. Elle s’intéresse à l’étude des mécanismes fondamentaux dans des modèles représentatifs de la biodiversité du vivant, avec des axes forts autour des micro-organismes, des plantes, des animaux et de l’Homme.

Métiers de la Recherche et de l’Enseignement Supérieur

La Graduate School « Métiers de la Recherche et de l’Enseignement Supérieur » inscrit ses formations dans une démarche « pré-doctorat + doctorat » personnalisée. Elle offre un espace d’échanges et un cadre d’expérimentation de nouveaux parcours de formation renforcée et de nouvelles pratiques, notamment inter- et pluridisciplinaires. Ces parcours s’appuient et complètent la formation de master des Graduate Schools disciplinaires, et donnent lieu à un double diplôme. Ils sont étroitement liés à des laboratoires de recherche qui assurent aux étudiants un contact précoce et soutenu avec le milieu de la recherche.

Mathématiques

La Graduate School « Mathématiques » s’étend des mathématiques pures aux interfaces avec les domaines voisins (sciences du vivant, informatique, sciences et ingénierie computationnelles, physique théorique). Elle couvre à la fois les aspects fondamentaux et les applications en cryptographie et en physique théorique, tous les aspects de l'analyse, y compris la physique mathématique, la géométrie, la topologie et les systèmes dynamiques, les probabilités, la finance quantitative, la physique statistique, les théories conformes et la gravité quantique.

Physique

La Graduate School « Physique » couvre l’ensemble des grands champs disciplinaires et méthodes de la physique, du fondamental à l’appliqué, de la théorie, de la modélisation et de la simulation, à l’instrumentation et aux expériences de laboratoire, de la physique légère aux grands instruments, du cœur disciplinaire aux interfaces en intégrant les enjeux sociétaux actuels.
La recherche s’y organise autour de trois axes thématiques : physique des deux infinis, physique des ondes et de la matière, et astrophysique.

Santé et Médicaments

La Graduate School « Santé et Médicaments » coordonne les forces de recherche et de formation dans le domaine de l’innovation thérapeutique, du médicament et des produits de santé au bénéfice des patients. Elle couvre l’ensemble de la chaîne des produits de santé et développe une recherche transdisciplinaire en santé, rapprochant les équipes dont les activités concernent les sciences pharmaceutiques, le médicament, le dispositif médical, le diagnostic, la physiopathologie, la médecine translationnelle et la recherche clinique.

Santé publique

La Graduate School « Santé publique » présente une très grande cohérence de formation et de recherche en intégrant la majorité des composantes de la santé publique, dans ses dimensions issues des statistiques et sciences du vivant, et des sciences humaines et sociales : épidémiologie humaine et animale, méthodologie de recherche clinique, santé et environnement, promotion et économie de la santé, biostatistiques et sciences des données de santé, éthique.

Sciences de l’Ingénierie et des Systèmes

La Graduate School « Sciences de l'Ingénierie et des Systèmes » propose des formations dans les domaines des sciences pour l’ingénieur et des sciences numériques associées. Elle couvre plusieurs grandes thématiques qui explorent et développent les nouvelles façons de concevoir, fabriquer, utiliser et maintenir des systèmes garants, pour l’avenir, des développements écologiques et économiques de nos sociétés.

Sociologie et science politique

Centrée sur deux disciplines proches, la Graduate School « Sociologie et science politique » comprend quatre axes de recherche pluridisciplinaires à forte visibilité nationale et internationale : Environnement, territoires et transitions ; Travail, emploi et professions ; Sociologie de l’action publique ; Analyse des données.

Sport, mouvement, facteurs humains

La Graduate School « Sport, mouvement, facteurs humains » soutient une formation d’excellence dans le domaine du sport, de l’éducation physique, de l’activité physique adaptée, de l’entraînement et l’optimisation de la performance, de l’ergonomie, du management et de l’ingénierie au service du mouvement humain. Elle fournit un environnement dynamique basé sur une recherche académique de qualité et adossé à des partenaires professionnels dans les secteurs du sport, des loisirs et de la santé.

Institut des Sciences de la Lumière

L'Institut des Sciences de la Lumière est un institut transverse sans murs. Sa création résulte d’une tradition de recherche fondamentale et de formation d'ingénieurs en optique présente depuis plus d'un siècle sur le territoire. Il favorise les synergies entre les équipes, met en valeur cette singularité et contribue aux avancées des sciences de la lumière dans tous les domaines, des plus fondamentaux aux plus appliqués.