Fulbright Specialist

Within the framework of its collaboration with the Franco-American Fulbright Commission, Université Paris-Saclay is co-funding the stay of an American specialist over 2 to 6 weeks in 2021-2022, for teaching, curriculum design, and expertise missions.

Following the closure of French borders with non-EU countries, all mobility to and from non-EU countries and French Overseas Territories is currently suspended until further notice, unless for exceptional reasons. Contact the risk prevention security service with your mobility questions: securite.prevention@universite-paris-saclay.fr.

The Fulbright Specialist programme

Within the Fulbright Specialist programme, an American specialist may be invited for a period from 2 to 6 weeks for teaching, curriculum design, and expertise missions. The stay must take place between 1 October 2021 and 30 September 2022.

The programme supports projects that fall within the scope of teaching and training missions. The supported project must define concrete and achievable goals during the researcher’s stay.

Examples of actions led by Fulbright specialists:

  • Organisation of a seminar or a workshop
  • Counselling services in teacher or professional training
  • Creation of a teaching or training programme and development of necessary material
  • Teaching at Bachelor or Master level
  • Assessment of needs for a programme or an institution


Eligibility criteria

Projects in the following disciplines are eligible:

Business administration, Public administration, Agriculture, Anthropology, Archaeology, Library science, Communication and Journalism, Law, American studies, Teaching Biology, Teaching Chemistry, Teaching Economics, Teaching Physics, Teaching Engineering Sciences, Informatics and Information Technology, Mathematics, Peace and Conflict Resolution, Public Health, Global Health, Science of Education, Environmental Science, Political Science, Social Sciences, Urbanism.

Projects involving contact with patients are ineligible.

The Franco-American Fulbright Commission encourages in particular projects on the following themes:

  • Management
  • Employment creation, talent management
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Public health / international health issues
  • Cyber safety and information technology
  • Media literacy and fighting disinformation
  • Public administration
  • Disaster response
  • Science, technology, engineering, mathematics (STEM)

 

Advantages

The Fulbright programme covers international travel costs, an honorarium which is directly paid to the researcher, as well as insurance.

Université Paris-Saclay covers housing expenses, national travel costs and meals.

 

Application

1. Identify a Fulbright Specialist

Two possible options:

  • You have already identified the specialist you would like to invite: in that case, specify their name in the project. In order to do so, the specialist in question must already appear on the list of Fulbright Specialists or submit their application to be selected. This may be done online with the World Learning agency: https://fulbrightspecialist.worldlearning.org/
  • You have not yet identified a specialist you would like to invite in the area concerned: In that case, the Fulbright Commission will look for a specialist whose professional experience, academic level, and linguistic skills match the requirements specified in the project.

 

2. Inform the Université Paris-Saclay International and European Affairs department (DRIE)

Inform the DRIE of your wish to invite a Fulbright Specialist by email to Amandine Duraz (amandine.duraz@universite-paris-saclay.fr). Remember to specify the theme of the project, the goals of the project, the main actions to be implemented, the name of the Fulbright Specialist (where relevant), as well as the planned dates of the stay.

3. Submit the application online by 1 May 2021

Projects must be submitted online on the World Learning site by 1 May 2021: https://worldlearning-community.force.com/FSPHost.

Guidelines in English to fill in the application are available in PDF format here. A French translation is available here.

A response will be received within 4 to 6 months.

 

More information

For more information, see the Fulbright Commission website and download the Fulbright Specialist programme flyer:

Fulbright Specialist

Dans le cadre de sa collaboration avec la Commission franco-américaine Fulbright, l’Université Paris-Saclay cofinance la venue d’un spécialiste américain pour une durée de 2 à 6 semaines en 2021-2022, pour des missions d’enseignement, de curriculum design, d’expertise.

En raison de la fermeture des frontières extérieures de l’Union européenne, toutes les mobilités hors UE et territoires d’outre-mer sont suspendues dans les deux sens jusqu’à nouvel ordre sauf motif impérieux.
Contactez le service de sécurité prévention des risques pour tout projet de mobilité : securite.prevention@universite-paris-saclay.fr.

Programme « Fulbright Specialist »

Le programme permet d’inviter un spécialiste américain de 2 à 6 semaines pour des missions d’enseignement, de curriculum design, d’expertise. Les séjours devront se dérouler entre le 1er octobre 2021 et le 30 septembre 2022.

Le programme soutient avant tout des projets qui s’inscrivent dans une logique d’enseignement et de formation. Les projets doivent se fixer des objectifs concrets et atteignables pendant le séjour du lauréat.

Exemples d’activités conduites par des Fulbright specialists :

  • Animation d’un séminaire ou d’un atelier
  • Activité de conseil en matière de formation d’enseignants ou d’intervenants professionnels
  • Création d’un programme d’enseignement ou de formation et développement du matériel requis
  • Enseignement au niveau licence ou master
  • Mission d’évaluation des besoins pour un programme ou une institution

 

Critères d'éligibilité

Les projets dans les disciplines suivantes sont éligibles :

Administration des Affaires, Administration publique, Agriculture, Anthropologie, Archéologie, Bibliothéconomie, Communication et Journalisme, Droit, Etudes américaines, Enseignement de la Biologie, Enseignement de la Chimie, Enseignement de l'Economie, Enseignement de la Physique, Enseignement des Sciences de l'ingénieur, Informatique et Technologies de l'Information, Mathématiques, Paix et Résolution de conflits, Santé publique, Santé globale, Sciences de l'Education, Sciences de l'Environnement, Science politique, Sciences sociales, Urbanisme.

Les projets impliquant un contact avec des patients sont inéligibles.

La Commission franco-américaine encourage particulièrement les projets sur les thèmes suivants :

  • Management
  • Création d’emploi, gestion des talents 
  • Entreprenariat
  • Santé publique / enjeux sanitaires internationaux
  • Cyber sécurité et technologies de l’information
  • Education aux médias et lutte contre la désinformation
  • Administration publique
  • Réponse aux catastrophes
  • Science, technologie, ingénierie, mathématiques (STEM)

 

Bénéfices

Le programme Fulbright prend en charge les transports internationaux, un honorarium versé directement au lauréat, ainsi qu’une assurance.

L’Université Paris-Saclay prend en charge l'hébergement du lauréat, les transports intérieurs et les repas.

 

Processus de candidature

1. Identifier un Fulbright Specialist

Deux cas se présentent :

  • Vous connaissez déjà le spécialiste que vous souhaitez inviter : Dans ce cas, vous l’indiquez dans le projet. De son côté le spécialiste pressenti doit être déjà sur la liste des Fulbright Specialist ou déposer sa candidature pour être sélectionné. Il le fait en ligne auprès de l’agence World Learning: https://fulbrightspecialist.worldlearning.org/
  • Vous n’avez pas identifié de Fulbright Specialist dans le domaine souhaité : Dans ce cas, la Commission Fulbright recherche un spécialiste dont l'expérience professionnelle, le niveau académique, les compétences linguistiques correspondent aux demandes formulées dans le projet.

 

2. Informer la DRIE de l’Université Paris-Saclay

Informez la DRIE de votre souhait d’inviter un Fulbright Specialist par mail à Amandine Duraz (amandine.duraz@universite-paris-saclay.fr). N’oubliez pas de préciser la thématique du projet, les objectifs recherchés, les activités principales à mener, le nom du Fulbright Specialist (si vous le connaissez) ainsi que les dates de séjour envisagées.

3. Déposer le dossier en ligne avant le 1er mai 2021

Les projets doivent être déposés en ligne sur le site de World Learning avant le 1er mai 2021 : https://worldlearning-community.force.com/FSPHost.

Les instructions (en anglais) pour remplir le dossier sont téléchargeables en format PDF en cliquant ici. Une traduction en français est disponible ici.

Le délai de réponse est de 4 à 6 mois.

 

Plus d'informations

Pour plus d’informations, consultez le site web de la Commission franco-américaine Fulbright et téléchargez le flyer du programme Fulbright Specialist :

 

Contacts

Pour toute question, contactez Amandine Duraz : amandine.duraz@universite-paris-saclay.fr