Xoana Troncoso, twice laureate of an Individual Fellowship Marie Curie-Sklodowska Actions, presents her project and her research

 

The visual perception of the brain

Our brains can distinguish between motion in the environment and our own motion: Did the image that falls in our retina (the back of our eyes) change because something moved or because we moved? Is the chirping heard by a cricket coming from another cricket or is it its own chirping? Was the sudden skin pressure felt due to a predator’s paw touching the animal or due to an obstacle touched by the animal? The signals the brain uses to make these distinctions can also be used to influence the acquisition of information to optimize our sensory processing. The Marie Curie project of Xoana Troncoso called ProactionPerception, carried out at the Unité de Neurosciences Information et Complexité (UNIC-CNRS*, director Yves Frégnac), explores the links between eye movements and perception during exploration of a visual scene. The main goal is to understand how the way we move our eyes impacts the way information is processed by the part of our brain in charge of vision. A better knowledge of this phenomenon will be relevant to the study of all sensory modalities and to a deeper understanding of how our brains can make predictions. This fundamental research project has translational potential for the fields of medicine and neural-prosthetics, neuromorphic computing, and robotics.

A major contemporary challenge

Understanding how the brain works is one of the greatest scientific challenges of the 21st century. By the end of her Marie Curie fellowship, Xoana hopes to get a leading independent research position at UNIC. This will allow her to direct her own research team and continue to contribute to the understanding of the principles of brain function.

Interview with Xoana Troncoso (UNIC-CNRS), twice laureate of a Marie Curie individual fellowship

What is your research background?

I have a university degree in Physics, with a specialization in electronics and computation. After finishing my university studies at the University of Saint-Jacques de Compostelle (Spain), I had the opportunity to work as a programmer and data analyst in a Neuroscience lab. I very soon realized that studying the brain was fascinating and decided to do a PhD in Neuroscience. It may seem that Neuroscience is very far from my initial degree in Physics, but if we think about it we will realize that the human brain has around 100 billion specialized cells (called neurons) making over 1 quadrillion connections among themselves. These connections among neurons allow them to communicate information, creating every experience we have of the world. So circuits and information processing are key aspects of Neuroscience, and physicists are specialists in both. The brain is so complex that Neuroscience is indeed a very interdisciplinary field, combining the efforts of biologists, medical doctors, psychologists, physicists, mathematicians, engineers, computer scientists,…

After getting my PhD in Neuroscience from University College London, I did two postdocs in the USA: the first one at the Barrow Neurological Institute in Phoenix under the supervision of Susana Martinez-Conde, where I studied the function of fixational eye movements (tiny movements of the eye that we make involuntarily when we try to fixate our gaze) ; the second one at the California Institure of Technology (Caltech) in Los Angeles under the supervision of Richard Andersen, where I investigated the neural correlates of action and decision making.

What were the reasons behind your application for an MSCA Individual Fellowship? What major change had this fellowship brought to your research?

After my two postdocs in the US, I felt ready to come back to Europe with the goal of advancing my career to soon get an independent position. The MSCA individual fellowship was the perfect program for this: in addition to allowing me to do excellent research at UNIC, an internationally recognized interdisciplinary Research Unit in France, it promotes the career development of the fellows by giving them more independence and providing training in transferrable skills. Another important aspect of MSCA is their emphasis on outreach and science communication: as scientists our job is not only to make discoveries but also to promote communication and transfer of knowledge to the public. As a Marie Curie fellow I have participated in multiple activities to explain my research in schools and in events open to the general public. I have also had the opportunity to attend EU high level meetings where scientists interact with political leaders, policy makers, stake-holders and industry representatives.

You have two MSCA felloships, what are the differences between the two?

The two fellowships had slightly different focuses. The first one emphasized career advancement by the acquisition of new skills and scientific techniques that would expand the researcher’s capabilities. The second one is specific to European researchers who have spent a significant amount of time doing research outside of Europe (in my case in the US), to help them return to Europe and permanently reintegrate here. It emphasizes the transfer to Europe of both the knowledge and the scientific network acquired while abroad.

Have you encountered any problems, difficulties when writing your proposal and preparing for your project?

Preparing a Marie Curie proposal requires a lot of knowledge about grant writing in general and about the specifics of the Marie Curie Actions. It also requires significant help from the host institution to provide all the information required to demonstrate how they will support your research project and your career development. I was very fortunate that the Unité de Neurosciences Information et Complexité (UNIC-CNRS), where I am carrying out my project, was very experienced and competent in this regard, and provided me with invaluable guidance through-out the proposal preparation. I am sure their help, and in particular that of Kirsty Grant, at the time team leader at UNIC and who has been involved for a long time in interdisciplinary European projects in Life-like perception, had a big impact on the success of my application. The Université Paris-Saclay now has in place an annual workshop/information-day to train potential applicants and host scientists to prepare their proposals, providing them with critical in-depth information about the process. I believe this is a very valuable resource that highly increases the chances of the Université Paris-Saclay community to successfully apply to this competitive fellowship program.

From your experience, what would be your advice to young and promising researchers wishing to apply for an MSCA Individual Fellowship?

I would recommend researchers thinking of applying, to carefully select the place where they are going to carry out their proposed project: make sure the host scientist will be very supportive of their research and their career development, and willing to be implicated in the time-consuming proposal preparation process. I would also advise them to be ‘daring’: the program’s prestige and competitiveness shouldn’t deter them for applying – all good applications have a chance of getting funded!


Interview by the Service Europe of the Université Paris-Saclay.

*UNIC is an Intramural Research Unit of the CNRS

Xoana Troncoso, double lauréate d'une bourse individuelle Marie Curie Sklodowska Actions, nous parle de son projet et de sa recherche.

 

La perception visuelle du cerveau

Nos cerveaux peuvent distinguer les mouvements dans notre environnement de notre propre mouvement : est-ce que l’image qui touche notre rétine (le fond de nos yeux) a changé parce que quelque chose a bougé ou parce que nous avons bougé ? Est-ce que le cricri perçu par le grillon est celui d’un autre grillon ou bien le sien ? Est-ce que la soudaine pression cutanée ressentie est celle de la patte d’un prédateur, ou bien d’un obstacle rencontré par l’animal ? Les signaux que le cerveau utilise pour faire ces distinctions peuvent aussi être utilisés pour influencer l’acquisition d’information afin d’optimiser notre traitement sensoriel. Le projet Marie Curie de Xoana Troncoso appelé ProactionPerception, mené au sein de l’Unité de Neurosciences Information et Complexité (UNIC-CNRS*, dirigé par Yves Frégnac), explore les liens entre les mouvements des yeux et la perception pendant l’exploration d’une scène visuelle. Le principal objectif est de comprendre comment la façon dont nous déplaçons nos yeux impacte la façon dont l’information est traitée par la zone de notre cerveau en charge de la vision. Une meilleure connaissance de ce phénomène sera pertinente pour l’étude de toutes les modalités sensorielles et pour une connaissance en profondeur de la façon dont nos cerveaux peuvent faire des prédictions. Cette recherche fondamentale a un potentiel pouvant servir pour les champs de la médecine et des neuronaux-prosthétiques, de la computation neuro-morphique et dans la robotique.

Un défi actuel majeur

Comprendre comment le cerveau marche est l’une des plus grands défis scientifiques du XXIè siècle. D’ici la fin de sa bourse Marie Curie, Xoana espère avoir une place de chercheuse indépendante au sein de l’UNIC. Cela lui permettra de diriger sa propre équipe de recherche et de continuer à contribuer à la compréhension des principes fonctionnels du cerveau.

Entretien avec Xoana Troncoso, double lauréate d’une bourse individuelle Marie Curie

Quel est votre travail de recherche ?

J’ai un diplôme universitaire en physique, avec une spécialisation en électronique et computation.  Après avoir fini mes études à l’Université de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle (Espagne), j’ai eu l’opportunité de travailler en tant que programmeur et analyste de données dans un labo de neurosciences. J’ai très vite réalisé qu’étudier le cerveau était fascinant et j’ai décidé de faire un doctorat en neuroscience. Cela peut paraître éloigné de mon diplôme initial en physique, mais si on y réfléchit, on se rend compte que le cerveau humain a environ 100 milliards de cellules spécialisées (appelés des neurones) réalisant plus d’un billiard de connexions entre elles. Ces connexions entre neurones  permettent de communiquer de l’information, créant chaque expérience que nous avons du monde. Ainsi, les circuits et le traitement de l’information sont deux aspects clés des neurosciences, et les physiciens sont spécialisés dans ces deux domaines. Le cerveau est tellement complexe que les neurosciences sont en fait un champ très interdisciplinaire, combinant les efforts des biologistes, médecins, psychologues, physiciens, mathématiciens, ingénieurs, informaticiens,…

Après avoir obtenu mon doctorat en neurosciences à la University College London, j’ai effectué deux postdocs aux Etats-Unis : le premier à la Barrow Neurological Institute à Phoenix, où j’ai étudié la fonction des mouvements fixes des yeux (des mouvements minuscules que nous effectuons involontairement  lorsque l’on essaie de fixer notre regard) ; le deuxième à la California Institute of Technology (Caltech) in Los Angeles, où j’ai enquêté sur les corrélats neuronaux de l’action et la prise de décision.

Quelle sont les raisons qui vous ont amenée à déposer une candidature pour une bourse individuelle MSCA ? Quel est le changement majeur que cette bourse a eu sur votre recherche ?

Après mes deux postdocs aux Etats-Unis, je me suis sentie prête pour revenir en Europe avec le but d’avancer dans ma carrière pour avoir une poste indépendant. La bourse individuelle MSCA était le programme parfait pour cela : en plus de me permettre de faire de la recherche d’excellence, il promeut le développement de carrière des lauréats en leur donnant plus d’indépendance et leur apporte formation et des compétences transférables. Un autre aspect important du programme MSCA est sa mise en avant des activités de communication et de dissémination : en tant que scientifiques, notre travail n’est pas seulement de faire des découvertes, mais également de promouvoir la communication et de transférer notre savoir au public. En tant que lauréate Marie Curie, j’ai participé à de multiples activités pour expliquer ma recherche dans des écoles et dans des événements ouverts au grand public. J’ai aussi eu l’opportunité d’assister à des réunions de haut niveau de l’Union européenne où les scientifiques échangent avec les leaders et décideurs politiques, des parties prenantes et des représentants du secteur industriel.

Vous avez obtenu deux bourses MSCA, pourriez-vous s’il vous plaît expliquer les différences entre les deux ?

Les deux bourses avaient des finalités légèrement différentes. La première souligne l’avancement dans la carrière à travers l’acquisition de nouvelles compétences et de nouvelles techniques scientifiques qui développent les capacités du chercheur. La seconde est plus spécifique aux chercheurs européens qui ont passé un temps significatif à faire de la recherche en dehors de l’Europe (dans mon cas aux Etats-Unis), pour les aider à revenir en Europe et se réintégrer définitivement. Elle met l’accent sur le transfert vers l’Europe à la fois de la connaissance et du réseau scientifique développé à l’étranger.

Avez-vous rencontré des problèmes ou des difficultés lors de la rédaction de votre proposition et en préparant votre projet ?

Préparer une proposition Marie Curie requiert beaucoup de connaissances sur la façon d’écrire pour obtenir des subventions de manière générale, et plus spécifiquement sur les actions Marie Curie. Cela requiert aussi une aide non-négligeable de l’établissement d’accueil pour fournir toutes les informations requises afin de démontrer comment ils vont soutenir votre projet et votre développement de carrière. J’ai été très chanceuse que l’Unité de Neurosciences Information et Complexité (UNIC-CNRS), où je porte mon projet, soit si expérimentée et compétente à cet égard, et qu’elle me fournisse un suivi de grande valeur tout le long de la préparation de la proposition. Je suis sûr que cette aide, et en particulier celle de Kirsty Grant qui était à l'époque le chef d'équipe à l'UNIC qui a été longtemps impliqué dans des projets européens interdisciplinaire dans la perception du vivant, a eu un grand impact sur le succès de ma soumission. L’Université Paris-Saclay a désormais en place un atelier d’information annuel sur une journée pour aider les potentiels candidats et chercheurs accueillants pour préparer leurs propositions, en leur fournissant des informations cruciales sur le mode de fonctionnement. Je crois que c’est une ressource précieuse qui augmente significativement les chances de la communauté de l’Université Paris-Saclay de soumettre avec succès pour ce programme de bourses d’excellence.

D’après votre expérience, quels seraient les conseils que vous donneriez à de jeunes et prometteurs chercheurs souhaitant soumettre leur candidature à une bourse individuelle MSCA ?

Je recommanderais à ces chercheurs réfléchissant à soumettre de soigneusement sélectionner l’endroit où ils comptent porter leur projet soumis : soyez sûrs que le chercheur d’accueil montrera son soutien à leur recherche et leur développement de carrière, et témoigne d’une volonté de s’impliquer dans la préparation chronophage de la proposition. Je conseillerais également d’être « audacieux » : le prestige du programme et la compétition ne doivent pas les dissuader de soumettre – toutes les bonnes propositions ont une chance d’être financées !


Interview réalisé par le Service Europe de l'Université Paris-Saclay

*L'UNIC est une Unité Propre de Recherche du CNRS