A meeting point for researchers from around the world

At Université Paris-Saclay, the Pascal Institute is a place of sciences dedicated to research, meetings of ideas and creation. The Pascal Institute aims to become a place of intellectual excitement, identity and influence of Université Paris-Saclay, both regionally and internationally. The facilities, whose construction will be completed by the end of 2018, will allow dozens of researchers from all over the world to meet to work on the spot, to meet other experts, to explore common ideas or new techniques and to initiate future collaborations.

An organization to combine openness and scientific requirement

The Pascal Institute aims to provide a welcoming platform for all the laboratories and partners of Université Paris-Saclay.

The organization of the Institute has two essential objectives: the establishment of programs likely to attract scientists and students from all over the world, and the ability to welcome visitors in the best possible conditions. In this perspective, a central role is played by the scientific council whose main function will be the selection of programs, relying if necessary on external experts. This council is composed of scientists of the highest international level and its composition reflects the variety of topics covered by the Institute.

A broad thematic spectrum serving all communities

The Pascal Institute, widely open to different communities, theorists and experimentalists, will encourage the participation of physicists, biologists, mathematicians, chemists, as well as researchers in information science and engineering in order to facilitate exchanges and collaborations between different disciplines.

The actions of the Institute

  • the organization of thematic programs from a few weeks to several months and the reception of scientists participating,
  • one or more international conferences and workshops on the topics covered in each program,
  • over a longer period, the possibility of hosting scientists from the campus or other laboratories in order to promote exchanges.

The Pascal Institute "outside the walls"

The building hosting the Pascal Institute (IPa) will not be completed until the autumn of 2018. During the period 2017-2018, the IPA will operate through a "Strategic Research Initiative" of Université Paris-Saclay: the PSI2 thematic programs. These programs, while keeping the spirit of the programs that will be organized in the winter of 2019 in IPa, will be distinguished by a smaller format - both for their duration and the number of people involved - and a refocused thematic coverage on physics and its interfaces. They will be welcomed in various institutions of Université Paris-Saclay, in particular the IPhT, CEA Paris-Saclay, and IAS, Paris-Sud University.

More about PSI2

Would you like more information or are you having trouble submitting your project? Contact us by email at institut-pascal@universite-paris-saclay.fr

Un point de rencontre pour les chercheurs du monde entier

 

Au sein de l’Université Paris-Saclay, l’Institut Pascal est un lieu de science dédié à la recherche, aux rencontres d’idées et à la création. L’Institut Pascal a pour vocation de devenir un espace d’effervescence intellectuelle, d’identité et de rayonnement de l’Université Paris-Saclay tant à l’échelle régionale qu’internationale. Les installations, dont la construction s'achèvera à l'été 2018, permettront à des dizaines de chercheurs du monde entier de se retrouver pour travailler sur place, afin de rencontrer d’autres experts, d’explorer des idées en commun ou des techniques nouvelles et d’initier de futures collaborations.

Une organisation pour conjuguer ouverture et exigence scientifique

L’Institut Pascal a pour vocation de fournir une plateforme d’accueil pour l’ensemble des laboratoires et partenaires de l’Université Paris-Saclay.

L’organisation de l’Institut répond à deux objectifs essentiels : la mise en place de programmes susceptibles d’attirer des scientifiques et des étudiants venant du monde entier, et la capacité d’accueil de visiteurs dans les meilleures conditions possibles. Dans cette perspective, un rôle central est joué par le conseil scientifique dont la fonction principale sera la sélection des programmes, en s’appuyant si nécessaire sur des experts extérieurs. Ce conseil est composé de scientifiques du plus haut niveau international et sa composition reflète la variété des thèmes couverts par l’Institut.

Un spectre thématique large au service de l’ensemble des communautés

L’Institut Pascal, largement ouvert aux différentes communautés, théoriciens comme expérimentateurs, encouragera la participation de physiciens, biologistes, mathématiciens, chimistes, ainsi que de chercheurs en science de l’information et de l’ingénieur avec l’idée de faciliter les échanges et les collaborations entre les différentes disciplines.

Les actions de l’Institut

  • l’organisation de programmes thématiques de quelques semaines à plusieurs mois et l’accueil de scientifiques y participant,
  • une ou plusieurs conférences internationales et ateliers de travail sur les thématiques traitées dans chaque programme,
  • sur un temps plus long, la possibilité d’accueil de scientifiques du campus ou d’autres laboratoires de manière à promouvoir les échanges.

L’Institut Pascal « hors les murs »

Le bâtiment accueillant l'Institut Pascal (IPa) ne sera achevé qu'à l'automne 2018.  Pendant la période 2017-2018, l'IPa fonctionnera à travers une « Initiative de Recherche Stratégique » de l'université Paris-Saclay : les programmes thématiques PSI2.  Ces programmes, tout en gardant l'esprit des programmes qui seront organisés dès l'hiver 2019 dans les murs de l’IPa, s'en distingueront par un format plus petit – à la fois pour leur durée et le nombre de personnes impliquées – et une couverture thématique recentrée sur la physique et ses interfaces. Ils seront accueillis dans différentes institutions de l’Université Paris-Saclay, en particulier l'IPhT de l'Orme des Merisiers et l'IAS du campus d'Orsay.

Plus d'information sur PSI2.


Plus d'informations

 

Vous souhaitez plus d'informations ou rencontrez des difficultés pour déposer votre projet ? Contactez-nous par email à institut-pascal@universite-paris-saclay.fr.