Published on 27 May 2019

On May 18, LERU unanimously approved the replacement of Université Paris-Sud in 2020 by the new Université Paris-Saclay.

The League of European Research Universities (LERU) is a European network of research-based universities. LERU comprises 23 members in 12 European countries, including 3 French universities: UNISTRA, the University of Paris-Sud and Sorbonne University, whose President Jean Chambaz chairs the Board.

On May 18, 2019, members of the League were formally asked to invite the new Université Paris-Saclay institution to join the LERU of as soon as it is created in 2020 and will be formally asked to do so again in 2025 when UEVE and UVSQ universities merge with Université Paris-Saclay.

Alain Sarfati, President of Université Paris-Sud and Sylvie Retailleau, President of the Université Paris-Saclay ComUE presented the strengths, ambitions and prospects of the new institution, which extends and intensifies the action of the Université Paris-Sud in synergy with the component institutions and university members of UPSaclay2020.