Published on 19 October 2018
Sous la Coupole de l'Institut de France

Eight laureates from member institutions of Université Paris-Saclay were honoured at the first Academy of Sciences 2018 awards ceremony held on October the 16th, 2018 under the dome of the Institute of France. Three other winners will receive their awards at a second ceremony on November the 20th, 2018.

Each year, the Academy of Sciences honours researchers who contribute to the advancement of knowledge and scientific research through the originality and quality of their professional careers. For the 2018 edition, 31 Grand Prizes and 36 Thematic Prizes were awarded.


Here is the list of the 11 winners of Université Paris-Saclay:

♦ At the ceremony of October the 16th, 2018

Patrick Wincker, Director of the Genoscope, Institute of Biology François Jacob (CEA Saclay): winner of the CEA Grand Prix "science and innovation"

Patrick Wincker organized and directed the Genoscope's genome sequencing programs of various and varied genomes: he participated in sequencing the genome of Tetraodon fish, the one of human chromosome 14 and several Arabidopsis and rice chromosomes.

He then took charge of complete genomes, such as that of paramecium, the rotifer Adineta vaga, truffles and many plant genomes such as vines, cacao trees, rapeseed or rose bushes. Each time his analysis revealed unsuspected features such as the presence of cryptic polyploidy.

More recently, in partnership with Tara Oceans, he has developed metagenomic programs that have enabled to characterize many unknown species. His original contribution is major and has paved the way for many fundamental or applied studies.


Alexei Chepelianskii, researcher at the Solid State Physics Laboratory (CNRS / Paris-Sud University): Jacques Herbrand Grand Prix winner

Alexei Chepelianskii is neither a theoretician nor an experimenter, but both at the same time. He is interested in many areas of physics. This allows him to build an original scientific activity of high level, inventive and very productive, characterized by fruitful back and forth between the innovative experiments he designs and carries out, and the theory he develops to interpret them.

His numerous scientific articles on a wide range of topics, from the dynamics of computer networks to the spintronics of organic photoconductors and the out-of-balance physics of electron correlated states on helium, testify to the richness and quality of his scientific activity.


Frédéric Pierre, researcher at the Centre for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (CNRS / Paris-Sud University): Grand Prix winner Victor Noury

Frédéric Pierre is a young physicist working on condensed matter and a very inventive experimenter, whose scientific production is on the rise.

His work is characterized on the one hand by the design and manufacture of original quantum electronic circuits to test the fundamentals of mesoscopic quantum transport, and on the other hand by the development of an unparalleled instrumentation for measuring their electrical and thermal transport properties at very low temperatures.

Frédéric Pierre's work has led to remarkable advances in the physics of electronic interactions in low-dimensional quantum systems by testing theoretical predictions, not yet verified experimentally, and by stimulating new developments in the field.


Julien Nicolas, researcher at the Institut Galien Paris-Sud (CNRS / Paris-Sud University): laureate of the Novacap Prize (thematic prize: chemistry)

Julien Nicolas is a polymer chemist recognized for his important contributions to the design of new materials for biomedical applications.

These have led to the development of innovative biodegradable nanoparticle systems to target different diseases such as cancer or Alzheimer's disease.

His results have led to numerous international publications and the development of seven patents with leading pharmaceutical companies.


David Attié and Sébastien Procureur, Research Engineers at the Institute for Research on the Fundamental Laws of the Universe - (CEA Saclay): Winner of the Ivan Peyches Prize (Thematic Award: Application of Science to Industry)

The prize is awarded jointly to the two research engineers, experts in a charged particle detection technique developed for particle physics.. They successfully applied these detectors to radiograph the Cheops pyramid in Egypt by using cosmic muons.

The analysis of their data clearly revealed the existence of an unknown large cavity, thus providing crucial information for Egyptian archeology.


Riad Haidar, researcher at ONERA, laureate of the Prix Aymé Poirson (Thematic Award: applications of sciences to industry)

The award recognizes his work in non-linear optics and optoelectronics, using nanotechnologies to control light-matter interaction in low-dimensional structures.

The objective is to design compact and energy-efficient opto-electronic components and systems for light detection and emission applications, particularly for the needs of the aeronautics industry.


Colin Guillarmou, researcher at the Orsay Mathematicics Laboratory (CNRS / Université Paris-Sud): winner of the Paul Doistau-Emile Blutet Prize (Thematic Award: Mathematics)

The researcher has made major contributions in several areas of mathematical analysis and partial differential equations.

His most significant results include spectral theory, scattering theory, inverse problems, quantum chaos, hyperbolic dynamical systems, conformal geometry, hyperbolic geometry and Teichmuller theory.

In particular, he proved that for complex asymptotically hyperbolic manifolds, scattering data make it possible to reconstruct the topology and metrics of the manifold and that on hyperbolic co-compact spaces the Eisenstein serie focuses on a measurement supported in the phase space by geodetic end points and on the Liouville measurement on average.


♦ At the ceremony of November the 20th, 2018

François Michel, research director emeritus of the CNRS, volunteer researcher at the Institute of Integrative Biology of the Cell (CNRS / Paris-Sud University): winner of the State Founded Award
Philippe CIAIS, researcher at the Laboratory for Sciences of Climate and Environment (CNRS / CEA / Versailles-Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines University): winner of the Grand Prix Dolomieu - BRGM
Giulio Biroli, researcher at the Institute of Theoretical Physics (CEA Saclay): laureate of the Prix d'Aumale - Foundation of the Institut de France (Thematic prize: physics)